LIFE Peatlands Project
Peatland water pools

Restoring Active Blanket Peat Bog of European Importance in the North of Scotland

All About Peatlands

There are broadly three types of peatlands in the UK.

Scottish peatlands, commonly referred to as bogs, represent some of the most extensive and ancient areas of natural habitat left in Britain today. The vast majority of this peatland is 'blanket bog', which literally blankets the landscape in the cool, moist uplands and in the north and west of Scotland in the drier lowlands. Two other types are also found: 'lowland raised bog' and ‘bog woodland’. In many cases, however, the distinction is not always clear-cut. The common factor is that they are all wetlands consisting of peat, which is semi-decomposed organic material.


| Introduction | Project Summary and Results | All About Peatlands |
| Publications | EU Life Programme | Links |
| Contact Us | Home |

Natura 2000

All documentation and media has been copyrighted © 2007 by various organisations and bodies.
Site development and design by Merkinch Enterprise, © 2007.